Our Leadership

Within the Creation Spirituality movement, there are many people who have studied Creation Spirituality with Matthew Fox and have been inspired to become artists, activists, theologians, spiritual companions, workshop leaders, authors, mystics, and ordained leaders. These people are brought together for mutual inspiration, support, and effectiveness through the leadership of the CSC Board of Directors. Each board member can serve two consecutive three year terms. Members of our current Board of Directors are listed below.

Mel Bricker, BA, MST, MA, DMin, Board Vice-President focused on issues of hunger, spirituality, and healing prayer as a United Methodist minister before moving to California to study with Matthew Fox. In California, he became Fox’s personal assistant and co-director of the Doctor of Ministry program at the University of Creation Spirituality. He is a founding board member of CSC. Mel does Spiritual Companioning. He connects to nature through his garden and through immersing his hands in clay as he create ceramic vessels.  He lives with husband, Paul, in Walnut Creek, CA.

Rev. Sid Hall, DMin, Board President, is a husband, father, and the senior minister of Trinity Church of Austin, TX, a blended UMC and UCC congregation. Under Sid’s leadership, Trinity Church claims and practices Creation Spirituality, publicly welcomes the LGBTQ community, and welcomes a wide variety of groups to its Interfaith Chapel, among them Buddhists, Wiccans, eco-feminist, and atheists. Sid has had the privilege of being arrested for civil disobedience along the side of MLK’s daughter and Gandhi’s grandson.

Rev. Seth Longacre, MBA, MLA, DMin (abd) brings more than 30 years of experience in leadership and management within a wide variety of organizations (from a one-person civil society organization to UCSF to the World Food Programme) in the US and around the world. He is competent across a wide range of disciplines: operations management (finance, HR, admin, logistics, etc.), organizational development, program & project management, training & facilitation. A certified Spiritual Director, Wilderness Rites of Passage Guide, Yoga Teacher, Health Coach, runner, and meditator, he is entranced by the spirit world and ever-seeking to balance a life of service, spiritual engagement and physical encounter.

Rev. Dr. Carolyn Million, MD, Board Secretary has been mixing ministry and medicine all of her adult life. She grew up in the Baptist church, but most of her profound early experiences of God were in nature. She pursued ordained ministry through the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary where her clinical pastoral education inspired her to study medicine. In 2002, she was Matt Fox’s surgeon, which led her to pursue a DMin in Creation Spirituality. She now has a part time private solo practice in Proctology in San Francisco and lives with her husband and teenage children on Alameda island.

Joran Slane Oppelt is a speaker, author, interfaith minister, life coach and award-winning singer/songwriter. He is the owner of the Metta Center of St. Petersburg and founder of the Integral Church in St. Petersburgh on spirituality and the innovation of religion, FL. Joran is the author of SentencesThe Mountain and the Snow and co-author of Order of the Sacred Earth (with Matthew Fox), and Integral Church: A Handbook for New Spiritual Communities. Joran holds certificates in Religious Literacy (Harvard Online) and Sacred Storytelling (Multifaith Storytelling Institute). He serves as President of Interfaith Tampa Bay and Ambassador of the Council for a Parliament of the World’s Religions. He has spoken around the world about spirituality and the innovation of religion at events like South by Southwest in Austin, TX, Parliament of the World’s Religions in Salt Lake City, Embrace Festival in Portland, OR and Integral European Conference in Siófok, Hungary. 

Rev.  Gail Sofia Ransom, DMin is a composer, writer, singer, educator, and pastor whose ministry has focused on creativity and spirituality in service to social and environmental justice. Gail recently retired from Education Director at First United Methodist Church of Pittsburgh, where she continues to co-lead a weekly CS based gathering, Mystics in Motion. Gail has coordinated three CSC national gatherings and served as CSC Board President from 2014-2018. She is now feeling called to mystical activism on climate change.

Rev. Judy Shook, Masters of Creation Spirituality ’95, is the solo pastor of Abernethy United Methodist Church of Asheville, NC. Her playful sense of humor dances with her deep commitment to earthy mysticism. Judy is an InterPlay leader who brings her cross cultural experiences of living in Hawaii and Alaska to her work on the board. Peace-with-Justice issues have been among her passions, especially full inclusion of LGBTQ persons.

Dave Summers, DMin. MBA, Board Treasurer is an entrepreneur and consultant whose personal quest is integrating his living with his quest to replace our cultural focus on duality with living in oneness. After selling the business he built over, Dave became a Life Coach to over 40 CEO’s and their associates. Since studying at the University of Creation Spirituality, Dave has sought to live fully and creatively through the Four Paths of Creation Spirituality.

Rev. Roxanne WhiteLight, DMin,  has been involved in the Creation Spirituality Movement since 1990 as a psychotherapist, body-worker, educator and ordained minister. In concert with the University of Creation Spirituality Faculty, Roxanne coordinated and led the first CS ordination program in 2006 which she based on her doctoral dissertation. She is now a member of the current CSC Ordination Council. Roxanne lives in Hawaii and Washington State with her wife Ruth and dog Mahalo.

Former Board Members:

Susan Coppage Evans 
Bill Gordan
Matt Henry
Nicole Porcaro
Mary Plaster
Rick Kuykendall
Marybeth Granberry
Edina Preucel
Di Wolverton
Calen Rayne
Tracy Longacre
Carl Freeman Reynolds

Tom Stempel
Daniel Barber
Wayne Schwandt
Lynda Boozer
Peter Lanzillotta
Mary Reaman
Paula Pociecha
Mary Davis
Gail Ransom
Carol Pearson
Robert Wilson
Gary Jacinto